The Awakening of Women

Awesome and inspiring read! Thanks #Michigan Author!

Weam Namou

The Awakening of Women

My niece, Sandy Naimou, is a yoga instructor, speaker and one of the board members at the Theosophical Society in Detroit. She invited me to speak in December about a topic that I dearly love; the roles of powerful women in ancient Mesopotamia.

I’m not a historian, but I studied this topic thoroughly when I wrote my four-part memoir series Healing Wisdom for a Wounded World: My Life-Changing Journey Through a Shamanic School. So, I’m aware of my rich lineage and of the fact that priestesses and princesses thrived in ancient Mesopotamia and made great contributions to the cradle of civilization including poetry, peaceful governance, and beer! Female freedom sharply diminished in that region when secular males acquired more power and religious beliefs evolved leading to the habitual pattern of, in Scarlet O’Hara words, “War! War! War!”

That region has suffered nonstop violence because of many factors, especially the…

View original post 331 more words

About @SylviaHubbard1

AUTHOR, MOTHER, SPEAKER, JOURNALIST, CONSULTANT & MORE! Divorced Mother of three, Detroiter, Sylvia Hubbard, is not only an award winning best selling author of over 28 books, but also founder of one of Michigan's largest interactive literary community, The Motown Writers Network/The Michigan Literary Network.

Posted on November 13, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

