#LateNight #MotownMom Confession: My kids never celebrated Halloween cuz I was a broke single mom.

Late Night #MotownMom Confession: My kids never celebrated Halloween cuz I was a broke single mom. I would just tell them it was the Devil’s Weekend & since we lived in Detroit they believed me & never asked.

It wasn’t that I was ashamed to be a single mom or even broke, I just knew I couldn’t spend money on three kids to dress them up.

I know what you’re saying, I could have easily made something up around the house. I’m creative.

Yeah, but I’m tired and I was not about to exert any energy on three kids, when I worked a full-time job, was a full time published author, head of the household and barely scrapping two pennies together to get heat.

Dressing the kids up for Halloween was the last thing on my list and I enjoyed my peace over their happiness.

I sometimes extended myself, if we had a car to take them to a church friendly function where they could get a bag of candy and have a go.

Otherwise, after Halloween, I’d wait for the costumes to become discounted and buy about twenty dollars worth put it in their dress-up trunk and let them use them throughout the year to just have fun around the house.

Do I feel any sort of guilt by having them miss out on things like that for their childhood?

Actually no.

My peace of mind was really more important and once my oldest was big enough to walk around and understand what Halloween really was, she actually took the youngest one out once or twice in the “nice” parts of Metro Detroit, but like me, she wasn’t into all that walking around and funny, the younger one wasn’t all into getting candy since I never had candy readily around the house.

On a side note, I’d also buy the discounted candy and use it for their Thanksgiving and Christmas bags.

Smart Mommy.

#Winning.

About @SylviaHubbard1

AUTHOR, MOTHER, SPEAKER, JOURNALIST, CONSULTANT & MORE! Divorced Mother of three, Detroiter, Sylvia Hubbard, is not only an award winning best selling author of over 28 books, but also founder of one of Michigan's largest interactive literary community, The Motown Writers Network/The Michigan Literary Network.

Posted on October 12, 2017, in Motivational, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

