How to Make #SocialMedia Work For You – Part 2 of 3 @mombizcoach #motownmom

Lara Galloway, @MomBizCoach

@MomBizCoach

I’ll bet that your to-do list is looking more like an entry in the Encyclopedia Britannica these days than a few bullet points on a Post-It note. Catching up after the holidays and a tough economic environment mean we’re all probably working harder and longer. Here are the top five ways I think using Social Media can save you time and take tasks off your plate.

 

  1. Networking.  You already know that business networking is a marketing method by which business opportunities are created through networks of like-minded business people. When you participate in a business network, you’re able to build new business relationships and generate business opportunities at the same time. Save time and expand your reach by networking online with twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn, by writing and commenting on blogs, and by joining affiliate groups. Spend as little as 15 minutes a day updating your profiles with relevant posts or comments, and you are marketing yourself to a self-selecting group of like-minded people who will be more inclined to buy what you offer.
  2. Collaborating.  Tired of trying to do it all yourself? Then use your network of friends/followers/connections to brainstorm, get some new ideas or get much-needed feedback on your own ideas. Who in your network is doing something (workshop, sale, community service event, etc.) that you could be a part of? Wouldn’t you both benefit by supporting each other? In the Social Media world, it is both acceptable and expected that you “butt in” to a discussion you find interesting and offer your advice or ask for support. How much faster could you accomplish one of your goals if you got some help from your huge Social Network?
  3. Learning. I used to Google something when I needed to know more. Now, I twitter. While Google gives me gazillions (my four-year-old’s word) of websites that match my search criteria, I still have to sift through a bunch of them in hopes of finding an answer to my problem or question. With twitter, Facebook, or LinkedIn, I can ask a question like: “What criteria should I consider when hiring a VA (Virtual Assistant)?” In a few minutes (or even seconds), I get several replies from my networks that directly answer my question. The answers come to me, rather than my having to sniff them out. This saves me a ton of time!
  4. Finding new clients. We’re all in business to make money, so we’ve got to find new clients/customers who are willing to give us their money in return for our valuable products and services. If you have a new product, class, service or huge sale going on, why not invite a gazillion of your network buddies to come buy something from you? With a quick tweet like: “Check out our holiday sale: 25% off and free shipping @ http://www.yourwebsite.com,” you’ve just given a bunch of new people the chance to become your adoring new customers. How fast can you type?
  5. Getting support. Like I mentioned above, I was stuck for a couple of weeks and couldn’t make myself get this newsletter done. Well, I’m almost finished with 45 minutes to spare before my self-imposed deadline of 2:30pm. I reached out to my network and asked for help, and I got it. Sometimes I need to vent, or I want to find out if anyone else has ever experienced a situation that I have, etc. I use my network to get the inspiration, encouragement, “atta-girl’s” and “me too’s” when I need them. Sometimes this is the exact thing I need to get back on track and do what must be done.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/2000427

 

If you need help getting started using Social Media, or if you’d like to follow a mom entrepreneur who is finding all kinds of ways to leverage her time so she spends less of it on her business, you can follow Lara Galloway, The Mom Biz Coach, on twitter at http://www.twitter.com/mombizcoach. Details about how she supports other Work at Home Moms through life and business coaching programs can be found at http://www.mombizcoach.com.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Lara_Galloway

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/2000427

 

About @SylviaHubbard1

AUTHOR, MOTHER, SPEAKER, JOURNALIST, CONSULTANT & MORE! Divorced Mother of three, Detroiter, Sylvia Hubbard, is not only an award winning best selling author of over 28 books, but also founder of one of Michigan's largest interactive literary community, The Motown Writers Network/The Michigan Literary Network.

Posted on December 17, 2012, in Information, Mompreneur, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

